Our Mission

Terrell County Historic Preservation Society is committed to promoting historic preservation and encouraging restoration of indivdual properties as well as historic districts in Dawson and Terrell County. TCHPS can offer advice on restoration and preservation techniques to those interested. We believe preservation and restoration are a forms of civic pride.

We are always looking for new members to join us in these endeavors. Please click the "Become a Member" link to download our membership form. Please print and complete the form and mail with your check to:

PO Box 63
Dawson, GA. 39842

If you have any questions, Please email

A Brief History of Terrell County

Terrell County Court House

An act of the Georgia Legislature dated May 9, 1827 created 5 counties, Lee, Muscogee, Troup, Coweta, and Carroll, from lands acquired from the Creek Indians for $28,000.00. Randolph County was created from Lee in 1828. The early settlers found it impossible at times to get to the county seats of the above counties crossing Kinchafoonee Creek to get to Webster and Lee Counties and Cuthbert across Ichawaynochaway, so on February 16, 1856, the Georgia Legislature created the new County of Terrell which was named for the eminent Physician and Statesman, Dr. William Terrell of Hancock County. Terrell County contains 322 square miles and lies in the southwestern part of the State. The Courthouse was constructed in 1892 at a cost of $36,832.00.